chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Testament - RELS 120 - Martin

Reminder: you need to use at least three multivolume commentaries in your exegesis!

Use only the following titles in Ministry Matters:

  • New Interpreter's Bible Commentaries
  • New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
  • Abingdon Bible Commentaries
  • Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation

Open Biblical Commentaries --> Select The New Interpreter's Bible (a multivolume commentary)

Open the Volume for Matthew

Open the appropriate section for your research. The Introduction lists the author of the entire section.

For the Abingdon Commentaries, you may need to use both the Legacy and the Research Library to find the book of the Bible that you need.

Citing Bible Commentaries

Bible Commentary (other than New Interpreter’s Bible; see SBL Handbook of Style – Section 6.4.9):

For Bible commentaries other than the New Interpreter’s Bible, give the title of the book of the Bible that the commentary is about in italics followed by the name of the commentary series without italics (Interpretation, Westminster Bible Companion, Anchor Bible…).


  • Footnote: Author’s First Name and Last Name, Italicized Title of Book of Bible, Commentary Series (City: Publisher, Year), Page Number.
  • Subsequent Footnote: Author’s Last Name, Italicized Title of Book of Bible, Page Number.
  • Bibliography: Author’s Last Name, First Name. Italicized Title of Book of Bible. Commentary Series City: Publisher, Year.

  • Footnote: James A. Wharton, Job, Westminster Bible Companion (Louisville: Westminster John Knox Press, 1999), 32.
  • Subsequent Footnote: Wharton, Job, 32.
  • Bibliography: Wharton, James A. Job. Westminster Bible Companion. Louisville: Westminster John Knox Press, 1999.

Citing New Interpreter's Bible (Multi-volume Commentary)

An Entry in New Interpreter’s Bible (SBL Handbook of Style – Section 6.3.6):

A citation from the New Interpreter's Bible is treated like a dictionary/encyclopedia entry: your footnote and bibliographic citation should begin with the author of the entry instead of the editor of the New Interpreter's Bible. The author’s name can usually be found at the beginning of the entry. Then, place in quotation marks the name of the specific entry.

  • Footnote: Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Entry,” Italicized Title of Dictionary Volume Number:Page Number.
  • Subsequent Footnote: Author’s Last Name, “Title of Entry,” Volume Number: Page.
  • Bibliography: Author’s Last Name, Author’s First Name. “Title of Entry.” Italicized Title of Dictionary Volume Number: Pages #-#.

  • Example:
    • Footnote: R. Allen Culpepper, “Psalms, Book of,” The New Interpreter’s Bible 4:672.
    • Subsequent Footnote: Culpepper, “Psalms, Book of,” 4:672.
    • Bibliography: Culpepper, R. Allen. "Psalms, Book of." The New Interpreter's Bible 4:661-680.