Dictionaries/Encyclopedias - New Testament - RELS 120 - Martin - Marshall Brooks Library at Principia College

At your tables...

As a group, look at the sample passage in this google doc.
Find a dictionary entry that would support the historical or cultural context of that passage. Read or skim the entry, but keep the book open once you read it!
Work together to write a sentence in the class Google Doc about your topic.
Cite the information in a footnote.

Citing Bible Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

An Entry in a Bible Dictionary or Encyclopedia & New Interpreter’s Bible (SBL Handbook of Style – Section 6.3.6):

Your footnote and bibliographic citation should begin with the author of the dictionary entry instead of the editor of the dictionary. The author’s name can usually be found at the end of a dictionary entry. Then, place in quotation marks the name of the specific dictionary entry.

Footnote: Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Dictionary Entry,” Italicized Title of Dictionary Volume Number:Page Number.
Subsequent Footnote: Author’s Last Name, “Title of Dictionary Entry,” Volume Number: Page.
Bibliography: Author’s Last Name, Author’s First Name. “Title of Dictionary Entry.” Italicized Title of Dictionary Volume Number: Pages #-#.

Example:
- Footnote: William P. Brown, “Psalms, Book of,” The New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible 4:672.
- Subsequent Footnote: Brown, “Psalms, Book of,” 4:672.
- Bibliography: Brown, William P. "Psalms, Book of." The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible 4:661-680.