chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Testament - RELS 120 - Martin

Searching the BlueLetterBible

Enter the book of the bible and the passage you are looking for:

 BibleGateway - Matthew

Check the Strong's option and the Strong's number should appear:

BibleGateway - Matthew Strongs

Select a Strong's number to see the lexicon entry for the definition and other information.

BibleGateway - Matthew Strongs Lexicon

Citing BlueLetterBible.com (Online Database)

Online Database (SBL Handbook of Style –Section 6.4.14)

  • Footnote: Blue Letter Bible, "Strong's G932 – basileia," http://www.blueletterbible.org/lang/lexicon/lexicon.cfm?strongs=G932.
  • Subsequent Footnote: Blue Letter Bible, “Strong's G932 – basileia.”
  • Bibliography: Blue Letter Bible. "Strong's G932 – basileia." http://www.blueletterbible.org/lang/lexicon/lexicon.cfm?strongs=G932.

Citing Strong's Concordance

When citing Strong’s Concordance in a footnote, the author’s name should be followed by the dictionary you used (“Hebrew and Chaldee Dictionary of the Old Testament” or “Greek Dictionary of the New Testament”). At the end of the footnote should be the Strong’s number connected with the Hebrew or Greek word instead of the page number.

  • Footnote: James Strong, “Hebrew and Chaldee Dictionary of the Old Testament,” The New Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible (Nashville: T. Nelson, 1990), 26.
  • Subsequent Footnote: Strong, “Hebrew and Chaldee Dictionary of the Old Testament,” 26.
  • Bibliography: Strong, James. The New Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible. Nashville: T. Nelson, 1990.