chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

Photography Fundamentals - MDIA 181 - Bauer, S.

Citations

Official Chicago Citation Style Guide Manual:

Citation Software

The library supports Zotero which is designed to help you create, organize, and write citations. Below are the pros and cons.

Zotero: A tool for many citation styles. Able to capture information quickly from web pages, online catalogs, webpages, etc.

          Pros:
               + Many citation styles
               + Easy to import citations
               + Easy to organize
               + Can add a .pdf attachment with citations
               + Works seamlessly with add-ons to create in-text citations and a bibliography for:
                    *Microsoft Office
                    *Google Docs
                    *LibreOffice
               + Option to add a note with a citation

          Cons:
               - Internet Connection Required

Zoterobib: This online tool builds a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.

          Pros:
               + Many citation styles
               + Very easy to use - no software to learn
               + Easy to import citations
               + Can create bibliography fully within your browser; option to generate a link to return later
               + Includes tools for creating parenthetical citations, footnotes, and endnotes

          Cons:
               - Internet connection required
               - Might lose your work if you close your browser while using Chrome's incognito mode

Citing Artwork

From Chicago Manual Of Style 14.133: Citing Paintings, Photographs, and Sculpture

Information about paintings, photographs, sculpture, and other works of art is usually presented in the text. If a more formal citation is needed (as in a note or a bibliography—or a separate section of a bibliography devoted to images; see also 13.67), list the name of the artist, a title (in italics) or a description, and a date of creation or completion, followed by information about the medium and the location of the work. To help readers locate the item, a museum accession number may be included; for works consulted online, add a URL.

 

Bibliography:

Dalí, Salvador. The Persistence of Memory. 1931. Oil on canvas. 9½ × 13 in. (24.1 × 33 cm). Museum of Modern Art, New York. Object no. 162.1934. https://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.

Lange, Dorothea. Black Maria. 1957, printed 1965. Gelatin silver print. 39.3 × 37 cm. Art Institute of Chicago. Ref. no. 2013.1220. https://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/artwork/220174.

McCurry, Steve. Afghan Girl. December 1984. Photograph. National Geographic cover.

Picasso, Pablo. Bull’s Head. Spring 1942. Bicycle saddle and handlebars, 33.5 × 43.5 × 19 cm. Musée Picasso Paris.

This work by Principia College Library is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International