chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

Literary Editing - ENGL 354 - O'Brien

 

 

Chicago Manual of Style

  • Lastname, Firstname [or single username] (@handle). Year. "Full text of tweet." Twitter, Month day, year, time posted. URL.
  • Example - American U Library (@AULibrary). 2016. "2015 winners of Library Research Awards. Don't miss your chance to win $1k this year! #tbt http://bit.ly/1XKYPBf." Twitter, March 3, 2016, 12:31 p.m. https://twitter.com/AULibrary/status/705490693574135808.

 

Facebook Logo(or other similar sites, like Google+) 

 

Chicago Manual of Style

  • Lastname, Firstname. Year. "Text of first sentence or phrase Facebook post." Facebook, Month day, year posted. URL.
  • Example - American University Library. 2016. "One week left to apply for your chance to win $1,000!"  March 11, 2016. https://www.facebook.com/AULibrary/posts/10153431856787157.

 

YouTube logo(or other online video)

Chicago Manual of Style

  • Lastname, Firstname [or single username]. "Title of YouTube Video." Video, length of video, Month day, year posted. URL.
  • Example - AU Library. "This semester on... AU Library!" YouTube video, 2:23, August 25, 2015. https://youtu.be/0dXw2RWqzpk.
     


Instagram Logo

 

Chicago Manual of Style

  • Lastname, Firstname [or single username] (@handle). Year. "Text of first sentence or phrase Instagram post." Instagram, Month day, year posted. URL.
  • Example - American University Library (@aulibrary). 2016. "Our view of the busy quad today!" Instagram, March 24, 2016. https://www.instagram.com/p/BDWURHtoCbG/.

 

This page is adapted and repurposed from American University - https://subjectguides.library.american.edu/c.php?g=175008&p=3161856 under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license.

Official Chicago Citation Style Guide Manual:

Helpful Chicago Style Guides 18th Edition:

Helpful Chicago Style Guides 17th Edition:

Citation Software

The library supports Zotero which is designed to help you create, organize, and write citations. Below are the pros and cons.


 

Zotero: A tool for many citation styles. Able to capture information quickly from web pages, online catalogs, webpages, etc.

          Pros:
               + Many citation styles
               + Easy to import citations
               + Easy to organize
               + Can add a .pdf attachment with citations
               + Works seamlessly with add-ons to create in-text citations and a bibliography for:
                    *Microsoft Office
                    *Google Docs
                    *LibreOffice
               + Option to add a note with a citation

          Cons:
               - Internet Connection Required

 

 

Zoterobib: This online tool builds a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.

          Pros:
               + Many citation styles
               + Very easy to use - no software to learn
               + Easy to import citations
               + Can create bibliography fully within your browser; option to generate a link to return later
               + Includes tools for creating parenthetical citations, footnotes, and endnotes

          Cons:
               - Internet connection required
               - Might lose your work if you close your browser while using Chrome's incognito mode
 

  • Many citation styles
  • Easy to import citations
  • Fairly accurate citations
  • Easy to Organize
  • Can add a .pdf attachment with the citation (virtual filing cabinet)
  • Microsoft Office Add-on for creating in-text citations and a bibliography
  • Option to add a note with a citation (this might be an option for documenting your annotations)
  • Operates within Firefox web browser
  • Internet Connection Required

The author-date format is most popular in the physical, natural, and social sciences, whereas researchers in literary, historical, and artistic fields mostly use note-based styles. For the note-based variants, the notes can either be self-explanatory and come with or without a bibliography (full note), or serve as a reference to a bibliographic entry (note).

  • Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (author-date)
    • in-text citation: (Adams 2002, 12)
    • bibliographic entry: Adams, Douglas. 2002. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. New York: Del Rey.
  • Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (full note)
    • note: Douglas Adams, The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (New York: Del Rey, 2002), 12.
    • bibliographic entry: Adams, Douglas. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. New York: Del Rey, 2002.
  • Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (note)
    • note: Adams, The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, 12.
    • bibliographic entry: Adams, Douglas. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. New York: Del Rey, 2002.

Citing Artworks

14.235: Citing paintings, photographs, and sculpture

Chapter Contents / Special Types of References / Artwork and Illustrations

Information about paintings, photographs, sculptures, or other works of art can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography. If a note or bibliography entry is needed, list the artist, a title (in italics), and a date of creation or completion, followed by information about the medium and the location of the work. For works consulted online, add a URL.

This work by Principia College Library is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International