News Databases - FYE Making Media that Matters - Needham - Marshall Brooks Library at Principia College

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. International, national and local news sources include the Christian Science Monitor and the New York Times.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
A business-focused interface intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and company, industry and country reports. Company overview pages help you quickly find the best resources for in-depth company research, including SWOT analyses, financial information, and current articles.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes full text for nearly 500 U.S. newspapers and more than 600 international newspapers, more than 1.6 million television and radio news transcripts from top sources such as ABC News, CNN, and MSNBC, and critical news content with ongoing updates throughout the day from the Associated Press, PR Newswire, United Press Internationa, and Xinhua. The Washington Post is available in this resource.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's historic newspapers pages from 1777-1922 from the Library of Congress.
Historical Newspapers - New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of a major newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2020).
Making of America Journals (Cornell) This link opens in a new window
The Cornell Making of America collection includes Civil War histories, 19th century monographs and journals publish in the 1800's.
Cornell’s Making of America collection include Civil War Official Histories, Selected 19th Century Monographs, American Missionary (1878 - 1901), American Whig Review (1845 - 1852), Atlantic Monthly (1857 - 1901), Bay State Monthly (1884 - 1886), Century (1881 - 1899), Continental Monthly (1862 - 1864), Galaxy (1866 - 1878), Harper's New Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1899), International Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1852), Living Age (1844 - 1900), Manufacturer and Builder (1869 - 1894), New England Magazine (1886 - 1900), New Englander (1843 - 1892), New-England Magazine (1831 - 1835), North American Review (1815 - 1900), Old Guard (1863 - 1867), Punchinello (1870), Putnam's Monthly (1853 - 1870), Scientific American (1846 - 1869), Scribner's Magazine (1887 - 1896), Scribner's Monthly (1870 - 1881), and The United States Democratic Review (1837 - 1859).
Making of America Journals (Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

I Googled & Found a News Article...Now What?

Keep hitting a paywall when trying to read newspaper articles? Try using the library's newspaper databases we've purchased for you!

1. Find a newspaper article you want to read. Copy the title of the article (the headline) to your clipboard. You'll need this in a moment.

2. Use Library Search to find the article - paste the title/headline of the story into the search box to find it. Don't forget to put quotation marks around the headline!