Journal Articles - Theatre History & Literature II - THEA 291 - O'Hagan - Marshall Brooks Library at Principia College

Literary Reference Center
"Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more."
MLA Bibliography with Full Text
Millions of citations from journals and books on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Indexing coverage begins in the 1920s.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, research reports from trusted institutes, ebooks, and diverse primary sources.
JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2025 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics.
Humanities Source Ultimate
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought. It includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals. Resources include feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, original works of fiction, reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, and plays that illuminate human thinking, action, and interaction.
Academic Search Complete
More than 10,000 scholarly, popular, and trade journals from multiple disciplines.

When conducting theatre research, search using these elements:

Playwright's name
Name of play
Alternate spellings/name of play
Genre
Performers
Actors/actresses
Acting company
Places
Themes
Characters
Symbolism
Reviews
Criticism
Notices

Other things to consider:

Combine the above elements with the appropriate logic operator
Are there multiple ways to describe a play? playwright? etc.
Be cautious how you truncate a search term, you could retrieve irrelevant results.

If you still aren't sure, ask a librarian.

From an EbscoHost database,

Click on the detailed record for the article.
Click on the link “Request document via interlibrary loan” and complete the form.

Otherwise, please fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request Form below.

Questions? Contact Abigail DeWeese at 618.374.5072 or abigail.deweese@principia.edu

Theatre History & Literature II - THEA 291 - O'Hagan

Using Names as Subjects Search in MLA

Keyword Search vs Subject Search in MLA