Global Issues - GLBS 225 - Andrews

This 3-minute video provides a review of the tools that make searching faster and more powerful.

Video by Sarah Clark and licensed under a CC BY license.

Too many results?

• Use more specific terms: "wage gap" instead of inequality
   
• Use phrase searching with quotation marks: "wage gap" instead of wage gap
   
• Use field searching: try searching in the title field or the keyword field
   
• Use the Boolean "AND": gender AND wages
   
• Use the Boolean "NOT": Wales NOT Australia for articles about the country of Wales that exclude results from Australia's New South Wales
   
• Limit by date: More recent works are more likely to be relevant and accurate
   
• Limit to full-text, in our collection

Too few results?

• Use broader terms: women may return more results than girls does.
   
• Use more accurate terms: female OR wom*n instead of girl
   
• Truncate terms using the asterisk (*) : econom* will return results that include economy, economies, economical, economist, economists...
   
• Try another database
   
• Use the Boolean "OR": Asia OR China OR Mongolia
   
• Use subject headings of one good source to link to others
   
• Follow-up on citations from one good source: that's one reason why scholars list their sources!

You can request journal articles from an EbscoHost database, a ProQuest database, or through a form.

From an EbscoHost database:

• Click on the detailed record for the article.
• Click on the link “Request document via interlibrary loan” and complete the form.

From ProQuest One Business:

• Click on the detailed record for the article
• Click on "Request this item" and complete the form.

Otherwise, please fill out the interlibrary loan form below.

Questions? Contact Abigail DeWeese at 618.374.5072 or abigail.deweese@principia.edu

You can add Principia College subscriptions with full text to your Google settings by -

Open Google Scholar > Settings

In Settings > Select Library Links

Type Principia to see all the options > Check All Three