Library of Congress Digital Collections provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
The African Online Digital Library (AODL) is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource. Collections include African Activist Archive Project, African Oral Narratives, and South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building Democracy.
The Historic Documents series has made primary source research easy by presenting excerpts from documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the world.
The Internet History Sourcebooks include an Ancient History Sourcebook, Medieval Sourcebook (It is the largest online resource of medieval and Byzantine textual sources.), and a Modern History Sourcebook. Subsidiary sourcebooks are also available. See the More Info link.
SUBSIDIARY SOURCEBOOKS
The following consist of thematically based subsets of texts, with some additional documents and links, of the three main Sourcebooks listed above.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
Internet Global History Sourcebook
Internet Indian History Sourcebook
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook
Internet History of Science Sourcebook
Internet Women's History Sourcebook
People With a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans* History
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The Cornell Making of America collection includes Civil War histories, 19th century monographs and journals publish in the 1800's.
Cornell’s Making of America collection include Civil War Official Histories, Selected 19th Century Monographs, American Missionary (1878 - 1901), American Whig Review (1845 - 1852), Atlantic Monthly (1857 - 1901), Bay State Monthly (1884 - 1886), Century (1881 - 1899), Continental Monthly (1862 - 1864), Galaxy (1866 - 1878), Harper's New Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1899), International Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1852), Living Age (1844 - 1900), Manufacturer and Builder (1869 - 1894), New England Magazine (1886 - 1900), New Englander (1843 - 1892), New-England Magazine (1831 - 1835), North American Review (1815 - 1900), Old Guard (1863 - 1867), Punchinello (1870), Putnam's Monthly (1853 - 1870), Scientific American (1846 - 1869), Scribner's Magazine (1887 - 1896), Scribner's Monthly (1870 - 1881), and The United States Democratic Review (1837 - 1859).
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 1-5 presents over 6,900 titles dating from 1691 through 1877. The five series were created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Harper's Week coverage from the Civil War Era through the Guilded Age
We have access to all Harper's Weekly segments:
1857 - 1865: The Civil War Era
1866 - 1871: Reconstruction I
1872 - 1877: Reconstruction II
1878 - 1883: Gilded Age I
1884 - 1889: Gilded Age II
1890 - 1895: Gilded Age III
1896 - 1901: Gilded Age IV
1902 - 1907: Gilded Age V
1908 - 1912: Gilded Age VI
The Historical Statistics of the United States
International Historical Statistics by 
