Gender, Race, & Class in Media - MDIA 237 - Wesman

The author-date format is most popular in the physical, natural, and social sciences, whereas researchers in literary, historical, and artistic fields mostly use note-based styles. For the note-based variants, the notes can either be self-explanatory and come with or without a bibliography (full note), or serve as a reference to a bibliographic entry (note).

• Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (author-date)
  • in-text citation: (Adams 2002, 12)
  • bibliographic entry: Adams, Douglas. 2002. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. New York: Del Rey.
• Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (full note)
  • note: Douglas Adams, The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (New York: Del Rey, 2002), 12.
  • bibliographic entry: Adams, Douglas. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. New York: Del Rey, 2002.
• Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (note)
  • note: Adams, The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, 12.
  • bibliographic entry: Adams, Douglas. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. New York: Del Rey, 2002.

The library supports these tools designed to help you create, organize, and write citations. Below are the pros and cons of each.

NoodleTools: A step-by-step tool for creating and storing MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles.

          Pros:
               + Can create a personal account (through library's subscription)
               + Great for learning an unfamiliar citation style
               + Has an electronic notecard option and tools for creating outlines - ideal for organizing a paper
               + Allows users to create annotations along with citations
               + Exports a bibliography

         Cons:
               - Can only cite in MLA, APA, or Chicago
               - Internet Connection Required

Zotero: A tool for many citation styles. Able to capture information quickly from web pages, online catalogs, webpages, etc.

          Pros:
               + Many citation styles
               + Easy to import citations
               + Easy to organize
               + Can add a .pdf attachment with citations
               + Works seamlessly with add-ons to create in-text citations and a bibliography for:
                    *Microsoft Office
                    *Google Docs
                    *LibreOffice
               + Option to add a note with a citation

          Cons:
               - Internet Connection Required

Zoterobib: This online tool builds a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.

          Pros:
               + Many citation styles
               + Very easy to use - no software to learn
               + Easy to import citations
               + Can create bibliography fully within your browser; option to generate a link to return later
               + Includes tools for creating parenthetical citations, footnotes, and endnotes

          Cons:
               - Internet connection required
               - Might lose your work if you close your browser while using Chrome's incognito mode