Primary Sources

Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
A collection of Lincoln's works, digitized and searchable
Ulysses S. Grant Papers at the Library of COngress
A digitized, searchable collection of the writings of Ulysses S. Grant.

Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources by K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
ISBN: 9781414403267
These volumes of primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped America by Ed. Paul Finkelman
ISBN: 9780979775802
Milestone Documents is a new series combining full-text primary source documents with engaging, readable analysis. Special features include a general subject index, an index by category, and hundreds of photographs and other images.

Harper's Weekly - Civil War Era
Search the full contents of the popular newspaper Harper's Weekly published during the Civil War.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle
This archive of the New York newspaper, maintained by the NY Public Library, is fully searchable and covers local as well as national news.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Search in multiple digitized newspapers from the Library of Congress. This is a great site to find newspaper articles portraying diverse perspectives during the Civil War era.

Civil War Photographs - the National Archives
A collection of photos from the National Archives from the Civil War, grouped by topic
Digital Collections: Civil War Maps
The Library of Congress' digital collection of Civil War maps is fully searchable.