American Revolution - HIST 202 - Davis

Created by the Library of Congress, this page contains electronic records for researching primary sources related to the American Revolution. (Library of Congress)

The National Archives holds records relating to military service during the Revolutionary War, including both Continental troops and state troops that served as Continental troops. You may want to start by searching for a person's Military Service Records and Pension and Bounty Land records. (National Archives and Records Administration)

The New York State Library holds an extensive collection of material on the American Revolutionary War in print, microform, and online formats. This material consists of troop rosters and other details extracted from muster and pay rolls, Loyalist records, colonial New York State history documents, military bounty land records, diaries, orderly books, personal papers of participants and broadsides. (New York State Library)

Search digitized maps from the American Revolution era. (Library of Congress)

A curated digital collection of maps related to the American Revolutionary War era, broadly defined as maps of the eastern part of North America and the West Indies dated 1750-1800. (Norman B. Leventhal Map Center)

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History's collection of documents

Harbottle Dorr, Jr. (1730-1794) was a merchant and a member of the Sons of Liberty. Beginning in 1765, Dorr spent more than a dozen years purchasing newspapers, writing comments in margins, inserting reference marks in articles, and assembling indexes. His collection is available digitally on this site. (Massachusetts Historical Society)

Books, pamphlets and prints documenting the intellectual origins of the American Revolution; the Revolution itself; the early years of the republic; the resulting spread of democratic ideas in the Atlantic world; and the effort to abolish the slave trade in both Great Britain and the United States. (Princeton Univ.)

Images of letters from spies, double agents, etc., pertaining largely to military strategy. (Univ. of Michigan)

(Library of Congress)

Letters, newspapers, broadsides, legal records, and maps that tell the story of New York from the early Dutch settlement of New Amsterdam up to the British occupation of the city during the American Revolution. (New York Univ.)

Contains 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.

(Google Books)

(Library of Congress)

(Library of Congress)