There is currently no comprehensive reference work bringing both sports management and sports marketing all together in one place. This encyclopedia is designed to fill this gap in the literature. On the management side, it introduces principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance, leadership, governance, communication, business law and ethics, and human resource practices, all in the sports context. On the marketing side it explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and sport-related products and using sport as a platform for marketing non-sports products, as seen in celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.
This authoritative reference source, edited by Pulitzer prize-winning presidential biographer Burns and written by some 400 scholars from 17 countries, comprehensively covers a burgeoning new field of academic study-leadership. Categories include case studies, leadership studies, followership, women and gender, personal characteristics of model leaders, leadership styles, and leadership theories.
An examination of the sporting experience of Native Americans, African Americans and the immigrant groups of the USA from colonial times to the present. It includes entries on racial and ethnic groups, ethnic sports, mainstream sports, ethnic and racial institutions and famous sports figures.
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports by Karen Christensen; Allen Guttmann; Gertrude Pfister
Call Number: REF GV 709 .I58 2001
Publication Date: 1999
A resource on women and sport, this work provides coverage from earliest recorded times to the dawn of the 21st century, as well as geographical and cultural context.
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues. CQ Researcher has in-depth, unbiased coverage of social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.