Research Strategy & Background - Art of the Italian Renaissance - ARTH 232 - Borja - Marshall Brooks Library at Principia College

Titan_Baccus

Titian, active about 1506, and died 1576. Bacchus and Ariadne. 1520-3. Oil on canvas, 176.5 x 191 cm. The National Gallery, London; Bought, 1826. https://jstor.org/stable/community15659310.

Suggested Research Strategy

Start with an Encyclopedia below
- Find background material on your artists or the time period
- Check the References for more sources to look for in Library Search @ Principia.
Find Books in Library Search @ Principia using subject headings
Find Articles in JSTOR about specific elements of your topic
Use JSTOR Images to find images of your work

Sample Reference Titles

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras by Edward Bleiberg
Call Number: NX440 .A787 2005 v.4

ISBN: 9780787656959

Publication Date: 2004

Volume 4 covers the Renaissance period. The sections on Architecture and Visual Arts may be helpful.
Atlas of World Art by John Onians (Editor)
Call Number: REF G1046.E1 O9 2004

ISBN: 9780195215830

Publication Date: 2004

Pages 120-123 give a concise overview of 1300-1500 Italy.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Barnet
Call Number: CITE SITE N7476 .B37 2015

ISBN: 9780205886999

Publication Date: 2014

Writing about art -- Writing about art : the big picture -- Formal analysis and style -- Analytic thinking -- Writing a comparison -- Writing an entry in an exhibition catalog -- Writing a review of an exhibition -- Virtual exhibitions : writing text panels and other materials -- How to write an effective essay -- Style in writing -- Art-historical research -- Some critical approaches -- Writing a research paper -- Manuscript form -- Writing essay examinations
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: CB361 .E52 1999

ISBN: 0684805146

Publication Date: 1999
Artists of the Renaissance
Call Number: REF N6915 .E17 2004

ISBN: 9780313319372

Publication Date: 2004

Table of Contents: Leon Battista Alberti, 1404-1472 -- Filippo Brunelleschi, 1377-1446 -- Donatello (Donato di Niccolo di Betto Bardi), 1386-1466 -- Fra,Filippo di Tommaso Lippi, c. 1406-1469 -- Giotto di Bondone, c. 1266/7-1337 -- Leonardo da Vinci, 1452-1519
Andrea Mantegna, c. 1431-1506 -- Masaccio, 1401-1428 -- Michelangelo Buonarroti, 1475-1564 -- Raphael (Raffaello Santi or Sanzio), 1483-1520
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art by Zirpolo
ISBN: 9781442264663

Publication Date: 2016

This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on artists from Italy, Flanders, the Netherlands, Germany, Spain, and Portugal, historical figures and events that impacted the production of Renaissance art.

Biblical Specific Resources

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts by Timothy Beal
Call Number: REF BS538.7 .O94 2015

ISBN: 9780199846511

Publication Date: 2015

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts (OEBART) is an in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology by Samuel E. Balentine
Call Number: REF BS440 .O927 2015

ISBN: 9780190239947

Publication Date: 2015

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology (OEBT) is a new encyclopedic treatment of major theological issues and themes in the Bible that surpasses all similar reference works in scope and significance.
Encyclopedia Judaica
ISBN: 9780028659282

Publication Date: 2006

Entries are written by Jewish scholars. It will be useful for a Jewish perspective.
Encyclopedia of Religion by Lindsay Jones
ISBN: 9780028657332

Publication Date: 2004-12-17

Mythology Resources

Classical Mythology by Morales
ISBN: 9780192804761

Publication Date: 2007

From Zeus and Europa, to Diana, Pan, and Prometheus, the myths of ancient Greece and Rome seem to exert a timeless power over us.
Bulfinchs Mythology Library by Bulfinch
Call Number: BL310 .B82 1978

ISBN: 0517262770

Publication Date: 1987

Art of the Italian Renaissance - ARTH 232 - Borja

Suggested Research Strategy

Start with an Encyclopedia below

Find background material on your artists or the time period

Check the References for more sources to look for in Library Search @ Principia.

Find Books in Library Search @ Principia using subject headings function searchPrimo() { document.getElementById("primoQuery").value = "any,contains," + document.getElementById("primoQueryTemp").value.replace(/[,]/g, " "); document.forms["searchForm"].submit(); }

Find Articles in JSTOR about specific elements of your topic

Use JSTOR Images to find images of your work

Sample Reference Titles

Biblical Specific Resources

Mythology Resources

Find Books in Library Search @ Principia using subject headings