Marshall Brooks Library: Music Subject Guide: Primary Sources

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million images* (and growing), scholars can easily examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and modern architectural plans from Columbia University.

Composed of approximately 300 curated sub-collections, Artstor supports and enriches study across disciplines, including world events from Magnum Photos, anthropology from Harvard’s Peabody Museum, and archaeology from Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Art Archives and, making it a resource for your whole institution

International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM)
Search over 850,000 records, the majority of which are music manuscripts dating from before 1800. The original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections as indicated in the RISM database.
United Kingdom (RISM)
This database holds details of pre-1850 music sources preserved in libraries and archives in the UK and Ireland. It includes manuscripts from national, public and academic libraries, county and city record offices, cathedral and chapel libraries and some private collections.
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection
A collection of 140 digitized manuscripts.
E-Codices: Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland
Contains hundreds of digitized manuscripts from over 40 Swiss libraries.

National Jukebox
"The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives."
Cylinder Preservation & Digitization Project
University of California, Santa Barbara's website allows users to listen to digitized cylinders. Information is also given about the history and progression of the cylinder technology.

Sheet Music Consortium This link opens in a new window
Digitized scores in the public domain sponsored by academic and research libraries throughout the country.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's historic newspapers pages from 1777-1922 from the Library of Congress.
Historical Newspapers - New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of a major newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2020).
Making of America Journals (Cornell) This link opens in a new window
The Cornell Making of America collection includes Civil War histories, 19th century monographs and journals publish in the 1800's.
Cornell’s Making of America collection include Civil War Official Histories, Selected 19th Century Monographs, American Missionary (1878 - 1901), American Whig Review (1845 - 1852), Atlantic Monthly (1857 - 1901), Bay State Monthly (1884 - 1886), Century (1881 - 1899), Continental Monthly (1862 - 1864), Galaxy (1866 - 1878), Harper's New Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1899), International Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1852), Living Age (1844 - 1900), Manufacturer and Builder (1869 - 1894), New England Magazine (1886 - 1900), New Englander (1843 - 1892), New-England Magazine (1831 - 1835), North American Review (1815 - 1900), Old Guard (1863 - 1867), Punchinello (1870), Putnam's Monthly (1853 - 1870), Scientific American (1846 - 1869), Scribner's Magazine (1887 - 1896), Scribner's Monthly (1870 - 1881), and The United States Democratic Review (1837 - 1859).
Making of America Journals (Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.