Marshall Brooks Library: Theatre & Dance Subject Guide: Digital Images

ARTstor
"The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates."
Google Art Camera
The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and acclaimed art partners from across 40 countries. Users can explore a wide range of artworks at brushstroke level detail, take a virtual tour of a museum and even build their own collections to share.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Artsy
"Artsy features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place. Our growing database of 350,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 50,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art."
Getty Search Gateway
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

Begin by either entering a search term or browsing by geography, classification or collection. For more information searching or browsing, here is a link to ARTstor help

Simple Search Option

Advanced Search Option

Advanced Search

When you have found images that you want, you can click on the image to view

Artstor image to select

You can then use the buttons to link, download, generate citation, or print the image. If you want to download, you will need to login or register with Artstor.

Artstor Options

Export a Group to PowerPoint

Log into your Artstor account and open a Group.
Click Export on the utility bar.
Click Powerpoint
The Export/Download Guidelines will alert you to the number of images you have downloaded in the 120-day period and provide a link to our Terms & Conditions of Use.
A status bar should show you the status of your request. (Your file will take a few moments to download).
You will see a confirmation message when the file has been successfully downloaded.

Note that multimedia files will not download.

Currently, the maximum number of images that can be downloaded to PowerPoint at a time is 150.

Each image will appear on its own slide, with the image data in the notes field below each slide. As long as you are connected to the internet when in presentation mode, each image will also be hyperlinked to take you directly to view the original image on the Detail page, allowing you to zoom, pan and launch fullscreen.

Please note: All logged in users may export up to 2000 images in a 120 day period. Personal Collection images do not count against this cap.

Use the Downloading Artstor groups to PowerPoint PDF, to outline how to go from the landing page of the Digital Library, to having your own PowerPoint of images. With Adobe Acrobat, you can customize this PDF to include the name of your institution, contact information, and the URL for access to Artstor for your off-campus users.