Research Strategy & Background - Art of the Italian Renaissance - ARTH 232 - Borja - Marshall Brooks Library at Principia College

Paolo Veronese, Italian, 1528-1588, . ca. 1551.
Portrait Of Countess Livia da Porto Thiene and her Daughter, Porzia.
Paintings, portrait. Place: The Walters Art Museum, Baltimore, Maryland, USA, 37.541,Acquired by Henry Walters, 1921,
http://www.thewalters.org/html/home.asp.
http://library.artstor.org/asset/AMICO_WALTERS_103828511.

Suggested Research Strategy

Start with an Encyclopedia below
- Find background material on your artists or the time period
- Check the References for more sources to look for in Library Search @ Principia.
Find Books in Library Search @ Principia using subject headings
Find Articles in JSTOR about specific elements of your topic
Use ArtStor to find images of your work

Suggested book on writing about art

Sample Reference Titles

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras by Edward Bleiberg
Call Number: NX440 .A787 2005 v.4
ISBN: 9780787656959
Publication Date: 2004
Volume 4 covers the Renaissance period. The sections on Architecture and Visual Arts may be helpful.
Atlas of World Art by John Onians (Editor)
Call Number: REF G1046.E1 O9 2004
ISBN: 9780195215830
Publication Date: 2004
Pages 120-123 give a concise overview of 1300-1500 Italy.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Barnet
Call Number: CITE SITE N7476 .B37 2015
ISBN: 9780205886999
Publication Date: 2014
Writing about art -- Writing about art : the big picture -- Formal analysis and style -- Analytic thinking -- Writing a comparison -- Writing an entry in an exhibition catalog -- Writing a review of an exhibition -- Virtual exhibitions : writing text panels and other materials -- How to write an effective essay -- Style in writing -- Art-historical research -- Some critical approaches -- Writing a research paper -- Manuscript form -- Writing essay examinations
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: CB361 .E52 1999
ISBN: 0684805146
Publication Date: 1999
Artists of the Renaissance
Call Number: REF N6915 .E17 2004
ISBN: 9780313319372
Publication Date: 2004
Table of Contents: Leon Battista Alberti, 1404-1472 -- Filippo Brunelleschi, 1377-1446 -- Donatello (Donato di Niccolo di Betto Bardi), 1386-1466 -- Fra,Filippo di Tommaso Lippi, c. 1406-1469 -- Giotto di Bondone, c. 1266/7-1337 -- Leonardo da Vinci, 1452-1519
Andrea Mantegna, c. 1431-1506 -- Masaccio, 1401-1428 -- Michelangelo Buonarroti, 1475-1564 -- Raphael (Raffaello Santi or Sanzio), 1483-1520
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art by Zirpolo
ISBN: 9781442264663
Publication Date: 2016
This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on artists from Italy, Flanders, the Netherlands, Germany, Spain, and Portugal, historical figures and events that impacted the production of Renaissance art.